Low Expectations

Image

It’s our little secret

this time

our little moment to let it all sink in

my excitement has evaporated and i’m sick of being emotional.

I miss my rebellious phase

the activist

who tattooed a language on her body that wasn’t her own.

in a moment such as this when all my plans have gone down the drain 

i wanna be that political activist

burning bras and streaking through the night naked…

I wanna feel

wanna hope.

Want to believe that my body can be loyal

but I’ve been let down before

and i’m keeping these expectations low

and not to let it show

how much this means to me.

 

Leave a Reply

