Biography of You

Today I wrote this biography in poetry

the life and times

described in short phrases

and lengthy verses,

too long winded

for casual eyes

and fickle lips

to read…

Each event expertly woven

into a lyrical wave

and nothing

and everything

flowing to the end

without ever beginning.

For a life so precious,

for memories so rare,

only a well worded

poem will do

ever so careful

to make you look good

yet trying to maintain

the veracity.

Today,

I put down this pen

and celebrate your life

in poetry

Today,

this biography is for you.

I wrote this poem a year ago when my uncle passed. He was an asshole, and I was delegated to write a poem for his funeral. I didn’t want to because I didn’t want to lie… but,as fate would have it, I didn’t have to.

3 thoughts on “Biography of You

Leave a Reply

