Life of a Nurse

I’m tired 

It’s nine am 

And I should’ve been home two hours ago 

Cuddling with pillows and toes that missed me from the night before. 

But the toes are up and about 

Getting ready for work and life 

A day spent without me… 

Another day 

Another night 

Days running into each other 

And off days that are anything but… 

I chose this 

This life that’s all consuming 

Consuming my time 

Consuming me…

Consuming me 

I’m tired 

Running on two hours of sleep

And a bunch of chores…

I need to rest, 

Because it all begins again in four hours. 

But I chose this…

3 thoughts on “Life of a Nurse

Leave a Reply

